Jordan Matthews wins 2013 CFPA Elite Wide Receiver Trophy

The postseason accolades keep coming for Jordan Matthews. After being named an All-American and receiving an invitation to the 2014 NFL Combine the record breaking Commodore receiver has won the 2013 College Football Performance Awards Elite Wide Receiver Trophy. Matthews will receive the trophy at halftime of the men’s basketball game against St. Louis on Monday.

Matthews was thought to be one of the favorites to win the Biletnikoff Award which goes to the country’s best receiver after becoming the SEC’s career leader in receptions and receiving yards this season. But the award ultimately went to Brandin Cooks from Oregon State.

The problem with the Biletnikoff Award is that fan voting plays a part in the selection of the Finalists. But the CFPA uses a different model to choose their winner. According to the CFPA website the winners are selected based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

Previous winners of the CFPA Receiver Trophy are;

2012 Marqise Lee USC
2011 Kendall Wright Baylor
2010 Justin Blackmon Oklahoma State

Matthews is in good company. Lee will likely be drafted in the first or second round. Wright was drafted in the first round of the 2012 draft and had a breakout season this year. Blackmon was also a first round draft pick in 2011.